9 thoughts on “We Don’t Ride in the Back of the Bus: a compendium of The Neville Brothers

  1. Crab Devil January 14, 2022 / 3:42 am

    Thank you!

    Like

    • Nate Rabe January 15, 2022 / 2:16 am

      welcome. i take it you’ve not seen them live?

      Like

  2. Crab Devil January 15, 2022 / 4:31 am

    Ha! No I haven’t. (Perhaps I was at some OTHER gig that night and missed them?)

    Like

  3. eselbin January 15, 2022 / 8:53 pm

    lol–it was my great good fortune growing up in South Louisiana and working as a bouncer at the Kingfish in BRLA to have seen the Nevilles in all their glory and numerous formulations. Y’all, they are as a gift from the goddess. True fact (best kind): in 1975 they opened both shows for the Stones coming on stage with cowbells doing “Pocky Way” and it was the best thing all night.

    Like

    • Nate Rabe January 17, 2022 / 2:19 am

      I’m totally jealous! That was a great era! Had no idea they opened for the Stones. They are so bleeding good. (Nevilles I mean, though The Stones are no slouches!)

      Like

  4. eselbin January 17, 2022 / 3:57 pm

    gifted–truly. And the whole cosmos that they were part of (Toussaint, Sweet Irma, et al) and those who orbited around them (Leo, George Porter, various kids). So much talent in one family. You know that Toussaint’s mother was Naomi Neville (he sometimes published songs in her name) and while she was not technically related to the Neville Brothers, I once asked Charles (the horn man) because I was young and dumb and he said something like “we’re from New Orleans, man, we’re all family.

    has anyone else mentioned having trouble downloading this?

    Like

    • Nate Rabe January 17, 2022 / 10:06 pm

      wow, that’s a good story. I once asked Taj Mahal to play 6 Days on the Road and he just scowled at me! I wasn’t young, just dumb I guess! sometimes Mega is slow, I’ll see what I can do to improve download times. cheers

      Like

  5. eselbin January 17, 2022 / 10:42 pm

    Got it–took almost a hour; never had that happen before. 4 of the previous 6 times it had said temporarily stopped and never came back and the other times I gave up too soon, I guess. Thanks!

    Like

    • Nate Rabe January 18, 2022 / 1:54 am

      i think it works better when I upload a zip folder. will do that from now on.

      Like

Leave a comment